MANS SELF WORTH ENTIRELY DEPENDENT ON TEAMS PERFORMANCE

Y100515-sports-team-self-worth-1038x576

New York- John Regan of Rego Park Queens had a really good day Sunday. Regan who is an avid sports fan follows the New York Jets and the New York Mets who both won on Sunday. For most people this would not be that big of deal, but for Regan it is a big deal, it’s a big deal because his entire sense of self-worth is dependent on the performance of his favorite sports team. Regan who is a high school Physical Education teacher spoke on personal effect sports has on him. “What can I say? I love my teams. I played both baseball and football in high school. I wasn’t any good at them but I played nonetheless. After my sports career ended in 12th grade, I transitioned to watching sports competitively.” According to Regan his emotional state at any given moment can be tied to how good or bad his teams are performing. “I really feel like a worthless piece of shit when my teams lose. I have a great wife, two great daughters and I’m the first person in my family to graduate college, but when my team looses, that all goes out the window.” Regan went through what a typical sports day is like for him and his family “Yeah, if both my Jets and Mets are losing it’s not a fun time at my house. First I start off light, I’ll get passive aggressive, say my wife ask if I want another Michelob Ultra when the Jets are down in the 3rd quarter, I’ll answer ‘Do I?’ Same thing with the Mets. Say they’re down by 2 or more runs past the 7th inning and my wife ask if she should warm up food, my go to is something like ‘Well I like warm food so what do you think?’ If they’re losing to a division rival then I would probably just call her a dumb bitch. The C word is reserved for playoff time only” Regan assured us that things are going great at home now due to the fact that his New York Jets have a 3-1 record to start the season and his New York Mets won their 90th game this Sunday; peace currently reigns over the Regan house. It is worth mentioning that the New York Mets won the National League East Division Championship and will be in the MLB playoffs which means the C word is officially on the table at the Regan residence. When Regan’s wife Carla was asked if it’s hard to deal with such high emotional stress she said “At least he’s not a basketball fan.” Her optimism is nothing short of inspiring.

Leave a Reply

